Philippine Coins: 1988 10 Peso People Power Revolution Commemorative Coin

The people of the Philippines know very well the story of the People Power Revolution or EDSA revolution. The movement that ended the dictatorship of the former Philippine President Ferdinand Marcos in 1986. To commemorate this event, the Banko Sentral ng Pilipinas minted a one of a kind coin in 1988. Its a large, rather thick, coin made of pure nickel. I’m a proud owner of this coin. This was given to me back in college. Back then it was a beautiful coin, someone played around with it and dropped the thing. It has a rather ugly dent on its edge, but the coin remains uncirculated and its one of the coins i have that I am sure is UNC grade.

VLUU L100, M100 / Samsung L100, M100

1988 PEOPLE POWER REVOLUTION COMMEMORATIVE COIN
OBVERSE
“PEOPLE POWER REVOLUTION”
“PHILIPPINES FEBRUARY 22-25, 1986”
You can see the dent on the lower left side of the coin.

VLUU L100, M100 / Samsung L100, M100

1988 PEOPLE POWER REVOLUTION COMMEMORATIVE COIN
REVERSE
“REPUBLIKA NG PILIPINAS”
“10 Piso”
Seal of the Republic of the Philippines
This is rather difficult to photograph because the coin is very reflective. It took me a while to get a clear photo, yet its not the best one. I am no photographer, I hope you don’t mind.

Specifications:
Metal: Nickel
Weight: 22 g
Diameter: 36 mm

According to the site http://en.numista.com, the rarity index for this coin is 74 on a scale of 0 to 100 where 0 is very common and 100 is very rare making this coin rather rare. Metal used is pure nickel.

This coin commemorates the courage of the Filipino People who fought against tyranny and injustice. When liberty is threatened, the people are always ready to fight and defend that freedom. This revolution is one of a kind in that it was a non-violent revolt against the Marcos regime.

Enjoy!

Back to Philipine Commemorative Coins

~ by MAV on February 20, 2013.

14 Responses to “Philippine Coins: 1988 10 Peso People Power Revolution Commemorative Coin”

  1. Hi,

    I came across your pretty interesting blog just now. I own a similar coin. Mine must be equally rare too.

  2. hi, i have lots of these, can it be used like regular 10 peso coins? i dont need it. thanks

    • Hi,

      Thank you for the comment. This coin is no longer legal tender. You cant spend it anymore. However, you can sell it to collectors for its face value. Bangko Sentral ng Pilipinas sells these coins for 10 pesos each, complete with certificate of authenticity. Are you perhaps interested in selling your coins?

      • Hi, I have alotof these coins. You know anyone who wants to buy? Contact me through 09178970122. Thanks!

  3. I have a coins of banko central ng pilipinas . and this 10 peso coin . can i ask how much i will sell it ? contact me 09362256932

  4. i also have one..can i ask also how much if a sell at..? and where i can sell it? contact me 09162342298 tnx

  5. thas was nice and unique..can i ask what this made of?

  6. When a coin has a dent on its side, can it still be graded? I heard that once it gets a dent or something similar, it is immediately marked as circulated, or it cannot be graded.
    Anyways, I am a big fan of your blog. Keep it up!

    • Yes, you are right. Once the coin is damaged it cannot be graded to some extent. Though I am not an expert on the matter. Coins with holes I am sure cannot be graded unless they are very very rare. The reason I claimed my coin is uncirculated is because I am the second owner and also because it was never used for trade.

    • By the way, thank you for the kind comment. Are you a fellow collector?

  7. who wants to buy this coin?i have one of this,,contact me 09053356095

  8. what is the value that coin Plssss help me

Leave a Reply

 
