Philippine Coins: 2014 5 Piso 70th Anniversary – Leyte Gulf Landing

Just last year, Bangko Sentral ng Pilipinas released a set of commemorative coins. Two 5 Piso coins and one 10 Piso coins. I was quite excited when these came out and I had hoped I could be the first one to get these straight from the mint, but that was a long shot. With that, I headed to my favorite coin dealer and bought a set for a price.

Featured here is the commemorative coin for the 70th Anniversary of the Leyte Gulf Landing. This commemorates the return of General Douglas MacArthur to the Philippines in 1944, fulfilling his promise, “I shall return.”

2014 5 LEYTE GULF LANDING 70th ANNIVERSARY
OBVERSE
“LEYTE GULF LANDING”
“70th ANNIVERSARY”
Depiction of Leyte landing.
Background is filled with repeating text, “LEYTE GULF LANDING 70 YEARS”

“1944-2014”

2014 5 PISO LEYTE GULF LANDING 70th ANNIVERSARY
REVERSE
“I have returned. By the grace of Almighty God our forces stand again on Philippine soil – soil consecrated in the blood of our two peoples.”
5 stars indicating Douglas MacArthur’s rank as a 5-star General; below is his signature.
“Field Marshal Douglas MacArthur”
“REPUBLIKA NG PILIPINAS”

BSP Logo
“5 PISO”

Specifications:
Diameter: 26.9 mm

Thickness: 1.9 mm
Weight: 7.75 g
Metal: Nickel-brass

This coin commemorates the return of General Douglas MacArthur to the Philippines, fulfilling his promise that he will return. His return marked the beginning of the end of the Japanese occupation of the Philippines.

Taking a closer look at the coin, the lower part of the reverse is filled with repeating text, “REPUBLIKA NG PILIPINAS.”

At the date if this post, the Philippines is celebrating Araw ng Kagitingan (Day of Valor). This post is dedicated to the soldiers who fought for freedom during the second world war.

Enjoy!

 <<back to Philippine commemorative coins.

~ by MAV on April 9, 2015.

20 Responses to “Philippine Coins: 2014 5 Piso 70th Anniversary – Leyte Gulf Landing”

  1. I FOUND NA ;LEYTE GULF LANDING IN CEBU

  2. I found 5 piso leyte gulf landing in Nabunturan.🙂

  3. […] commemorative 5-peso coin celebrating the 70th anniversary of the Leyte Gulf Landing. According to this website, the obverse of the coin (shown on the left) has its upper background filled with the repeated text […]

  4. i found a 5 peso coin 6 hours ago. the LEYTE GULF LANDING (1944-2014)

  5. i found one.

  6. yes i got one (01,11,2016)

  7. found 1 of the coin 2:45 (01,11.2016

  8. I found one

  9. I found 1 of this coin

  10. i found one 5 peso coins, is this have value?

  11. I found one. Leyte Gulf Landing 5 piso coin

  12. I Found one. Leyte Gulf Landing 1977 – 2014 coins in Tarlac City

  13. I found one.. Leyte Gulf Landing5 piso coin
    margarita o. castillo

  14. i found one the 1944-2014 5 piso coin

  15. I found 5 piso coin 1944-2014

  16. I have found 5 piso coin

  17. I found a 5 peso coin like this, at first i thought my change included some token but when i took a second look i immediately googled and found your blog. Mabuhay!

Leave a Reply

 
