Philippine Banknote: 1990 5 PISO Kababaihan Para Sa Kaunlaran Overprint

In 1990, Bangko Sentral ng Pilipinas released the commemorative overprint below.

1990_5PISO_KABABAIHAN_OVERPRINT_wtm


1990_5PISO_KABABAIHAN_OVERPRINT_CLOSE_wtm

1990 5 PISO Kababaihan Para Sa Kaunlaran Overprint
“KABABAIHAN PARA SA KAUNLARAN”
(WOMEN FOR PROGRESS)
A Filipina holding the Philippine Flag
“1990”

This overprint was printed on a 5 PISO NDS (New Design Series) note. To be honest, I have no info regarding this overprint. I can’t seem to find any info on the net about this commemorative note. If anyone has info on these, please feel free to contribute via the comments section.

What I can assume however is that it may have been a movement for women’s rights. And again, I am just assuming this. Please do not quote it as fact.

I got this from a dealer at a cheap price. It’s not very popular and maybe that is why not much info is out there.

Enjoy!

~ by MAV on February 26, 2015.

Leave a comment